Personally Discovering Parks

An employees turns off a sprinkler at Finch Arboretum, in Spokane, Wash., on Tuesday, August 18, 2013. (Young Kwak/City of Spokane Parks & Recreation)

An employees prepares to turn off a sprinkler at Finch Arboretum, in Spokane, Wash., on Tuesday, August 18, 2013. (Young Kwak/City of Spokane Parks & Recreation)

I spent a couple of days this week photographing some of our area parks. I probably walked about 8 miles. Parks Horticulture Supervisor Steve Nitollo can verify this. This is the most I have walked at one time since I photographed Bloomsday.  Seriously though, there are parts of the parks I have never seen and it was exciting to make personal discoveries about our parks.

At Finch Arboretum, I walked to an area named Corey Glen. It is all the way at the back of the park. Most of the bloom has passed. The rhododendrons were in bloom a couple of months ago. But, this is an area I never knew about. I also didn’t know about the Touch and See Nature Trail, specifically designed for the visually impaired.

At Riverfront Park, everything was a lot more familiar. But, the hanging plants are something I didn’t notice before. They have always been there. But, I just noticed them. Go figure.

At Manito Park, there are two playgrounds and a splash pad. Really? Even though I have a young daughter, for some reason I never related those amenities with the park. I have always seen it as a place to hike and enjoy the gardens. Even after over 6 years, I am still making discoveries around town.

How do I miss these things? I’m not sure. But, it is an awesome feeling to forever discover things about the city I have adopted as my own, and that has hopefully adopted me. What I enjoy most about my job is the constant ability to see things I haven’t before. It is important to slow down and look around every once in a while, to not miss things.

Leave a Reply

