The Funny Carrot

20131013-173648.jpg

It doesn’t matter what the food looks like. I just harvested our carrots and found all sorts of shapes and sizes. My family got a good laugh out of the stubby one, in the front in the photo above. It’s my favorite carrot from the garden this year. Maybe it’s because it resembles my belly.

Then, I thought about all of the produce that might not make it to the grocery stores because of their size or shape. The grocery store produce generally has the perfect look.

I took pause at how many more people could be fed, if all the weird sized and shaped produce was made available for us to buy and eat. Would we ignore the weird looking produce? It makes me think.

Leave a Reply

