OSX Mavericks First Impressions

I was probably one of the first in line to download Apple’s new operating system, OSX 10.9 Mavericks. It took a while for the new OS to download, after a couple of stalls. That was me, at noon, yesterday. 

Upgrading was a big risk for me. I rely on Photo Mechanic, Photoshop and Final Cut Pro X for my work. Other apps have to work, but these are critical apps for me. I put my iMac at great risk by doing this. 

Luckily, I have two computers and only updated the iMac. My laptop could serve as backup if something really bad happened. My laptop is an old MacBook, so it can run Photo Mechanic and Photoshop, but not Final Cut Pro X. I have a week to a week and a half of approval time on my current big video project. So, if Final Cut Pro X blew up on me, I would have time to figure out a solution. I also have my iPad Mini as a photo editing tool, as well.

OSX Mavericks didn’t do anything bad. To the contrary, it made my two year old iMac feel quicker. That’s right, my iMac got a tune up with the OS update. Photo Mechanic, Photo Mechanic and Final Cut Pro X all ran fine, with no issues. As a matter of fact, Photoshop would hesitate right at the beginning of a save to my server on OSX 10.7.4. With OSX Mavericks, that problem seems to have gone away.

The only issue I have encountered is that the screen saver doesn’t always come up. I have a feeling it has to do with notifications, a they keep popping up. I will have to figure that out. For the time being, I use a corner to bring up the screen saver.

Of course, I have only been running the new OS for a day and a half. So, I’ll see if any other issues come up. 

2 thoughts on “OSX Mavericks First Impressions

Leave a Reply

