Final Cut Pro X 10.1 First Impressions

Just finished first edits for CHAS TV spots

A post shared by Young Kwak (@youngkwak) on

I finished one last project and was able to update to Final Cut Pro X 10.1. I didn’t want to take a chance mess up anything on my existing projects. So, I waited until I was between projects.

A couple of things to note. The library is a great feature. In the first versions of Final Cut Pro X, the event and project files were kept separate, which was a pretty weird feature. In the new version, event and projects are kept in one library, sort of how most NLEs store links to media, sequences and bins anyway.

Another thing that I like is the bug fix for importing into keyword collections. In earlier versions, I would try to import a single media file into a keyword collection and it wouldn’t be attached to that keyword collection. I always found that to be weird. It would import but would not have any keywords attached to it. So, I am happy that feature is now working.

One thing that bothers me a bit is that the app now takes longer to open on my iMac. I hope it is not a sign of things to come. I would hate to see each version operating slower and slower on my iMac.

Overall, the update to 10.1 has been trouble-free. My iMac has not crashed and I actually ended up opening an older project to see what would happen. 10.1 updated the older file to a new library and was ready to be edited.

So, things seem to be evolving for Final Cut Pro X. Of course, there are features I would like to see. The main thing is a 3-way or even 2-way color corrector instead of the current color corrector. I would also like to see gaps automatically created on the main storyline if I want to place clips apart from one another. Another thing I would like is the option of applying effects, color corrections, speed changes, etc… when replacing clips on the storyline. Maybe in the future. But for now, I am pretty happy with 10.1.

Leave a Reply

