Chicken and Vegetable Curry

Chicken and veggie #curry for #dinner. #cooking

A post shared by Young Kwak (@youngkwak) on

I made some chicken and vegetable curry yesterday. I’m new to making curry. So, I looked at a couple of dozen recipes online, looked for similarities in ingredients, found ingredients that I already had and went to town.

I started the pot off with some olive oil and a tablespoon of coconut oil. Then, I mixed in 3 tablespoons of curry powder and 2 tablespoons of paprika. I added a diced onion and 6 minced cloves of garlic. I was going to add fresh ginger but discovered I didn’t have any. So, I ended up using a little ginger powder. I also added a can of diced tomatoes. That cooked for about 10 minutes until it became thick and pasty.

After 10 minutes, I cubed, salted and added pepper to 3 boneless chicken thighs, and placed them into the pot, making sure to coat each piece of chicken with the curry mix. Then, I added a head of cauliflower, a head of broccoli, a couple of carrots, a few zucchinis and 4 yukon gold potatoes and mixed all of that with curry. I salted the vegetables before adding them  I poured in 3 cups of chicken broth, a can of coconut milk and a sprinkling of dried basil. That cooked for about half an hour.

At the end, I added cilantro to finish. It didn’t need any additional salt because of the chicken broth and the fact that I added salt to the ingredients as they went into the pot. I poured it onto some jasmine, brown rice and quinoa. It came out pretty good.

Leave a Reply

